Reading Plan for 2010

After my disastrously over-ambitious reading plan for 2009, I decided to be a bit more realistic and strategic for my reading plan in 2010.  Although I am a hopeless idealist so the chances of practical and realistic are slim…

I have decided to focus on a few key areas this year and try to focus my reading in these areas as much (but not exclusively) as possible:

What will make my plans more interesting is that with all our great changes and new beginnings this year, my wife has (wisely) put a bit of a moratorium on my book spending.  So I will be  (a) plundering my shelves for bought with good intentions and not read yet books I already own (b) Making use of the public library and friends books where possible, (c) I have decided to add a selected wish list to my blog this year.  It feels kind of wrong and cheeky but I have realized lately that God’s people just love to bless and be generous when they know what you need.  So here it is – all blessings welcome 🙂

1. The Bible – I used the Bible reading plan that Tim Chester put together last year, it worked I enjoyed it and so I am going to use it again this year.  What I like most about this plan is that it has readings for a week rather than day by day, so you can organise your reading in a way that works best for you.

Our Sabbath-rest day is on a Monday so we are going to aim to read the whole weeks reading together on Monday and then individually go back and reread and meditate on the parts that we want to focus on some more.

2. South Africa – the history, her people, our stories   Whilst I am far from being historically and politically ignorant I realise that I have read far too little about my country and the stories that make up our history.

I particularly want to read more on the history of the church in SA.   Names like – Beyers Naude, Desmond Tutu, Frank Chikane spring to mind.  This is not necessarily a theological endorsement but an historical understanding of the history of the church in South Africa.

Four books I am hoping to read in this category:

William Mervin Gumede: Thabo Mbeki and the Battle for the Soul of the ANC

Desmond Tutu: No Future Without Forgiveness

J.B. Peires: The House of Phalo – The History of the Xhosa People in the Days of their Independence

3. N.T. Wright: His understanding and grasp of first century Judaism is brilliant, insightful and stimulating – definitely my favourite commentator on New Testament background and texts.  Secondly he is probably the most influential New Testament scholar today particularly in the debate around the so-called New Perspective on Paul.

To my shame I have owned but not read (except to dip into occasionally)

The New Testament and the People of God

Jesus and the Victory of God

I also would like to read:

Justification: God’s Plan and Paul’s Vision

4. The Church/Mission/Missional Church/Church Planting: This is probably the one area that I have read most of my books in these areas.  And as it is where my heart and situation is at the moment I probably will read substantially in this area again this year.  Here are two books on my shelf that I am most likely to read this year:

Harvie Conn (editor): The Urban Face of Mission

John Stott: Christian Mission in the Modern World

5. The Classics: I have made it a rule to try read at least one classic, older book that I have never read each year.  So this year it is:

Reformation Accomplished and Applied: John Murray

6. Islam: The area we are moving into in April has a significant Muslim population.  Missionally these are two key books for me this year:

John Gilchrist: Muhammed: The Prophet of Islam

John Gilchrist: The Qur’an: The Scripture of Islam

7. Other: After reading Christopher Wright’s: The Mission of God last year, I have been inspired to get hold of and read The Old Testament Ethics for the People of God this year.

~ by John on January 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
