3 Things that Paul wants the Galatians to be clear about

This post follows on from this one: Key Themes in Galatians

1. Paul is a true apostle:

“Paul, an apostle—sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised him from the dead” 1v1

“I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel I preached is not something that man made up.  I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ.”1v11-12

“As for those who seemed to be important—whatever they were makes no difference to me; God does not judge by external appearance—those men added nothing to my message.  On the contrary, they saw that I had been entrusted with the task of preaching the gospel to the Gentiles, just as Peter had been to the Jews.  For God, who was at work in the ministry of Peter as an apostle to the Jews, was also at work in my ministry as an apostle to the Gentiles.  James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews.  All they asked was that we should continue to remember the poor, the very thing I was eager to do.” 2v6-10

2. Carrying the true gospel:

“the Lord Jesus Christ, who gave himself for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father” 1v3b-4

“a man is not justified by observing the law, but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we, too, have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by observing the law, because by observing the law no one will be justified.” 2v16

“For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God.  I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”  2v19-21

“You foolish Galatians! Who has bewitched you? Before your very eyes Jesus Christ was clearly portrayed as crucified.” 3v1

“Clearly no one is justified before God by the law, because, “The righteous will live by faith.” 3v11

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a tree.”  He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.” 3v13-14

“So the law was put in charge to lead us to Christ that we might be justified by faith.” 3v24

“You who are trying to be justified by law have been alienated from Christ; you have fallen away from grace.” 5v4

“May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world” 6v14

3. The righteous life is the life of the Spirit:

“Are you so foolish? After beginning with the Spirit, are you now trying to attain your goal by human effort? Have you suffered so much for nothing—if it really was for nothing?” 3v3-4

“He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus, so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.” 3v14

“Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, “Abba, Father.” 4v6

“For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision has any value. The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.” 5v6

“So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature” 5v16

“But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.” 5v18

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” 5v22-23

“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” 5v25

~ by John on January 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
