A bowl of cereal

“You know,” Paul begins, “its funny.  Two weeks ago when we talked about things we wanted or our aspirations, we would have talked about houses or boats or cars.  Now that we’ve been on the road for a while, everything is reduced to a bowl of cereal.”  Paul develops a smile as he stands straight again.  “Isn’t that just beautiful?  Cereal.  There are people in this world who are killing themselves because they want more and more of nothing.  And the only thing you and I want in this world is bowl of cereal.  That just shows you how the things we think are important really aren’t important.

“And a boat,” I say.

“What’s that ?” Paul asks

“I wouldn’t mind a boat,” I tell him.  “A nice, big sailing boat with a wooden hull.  I’d like to eat my cereal on my boat.”

Paul rolls his eyes and shakes his head at me.”

Donald Miller, “Through Painted Deserts: Light, God and Beauty on the Open Road”, p123.

~ by John on December 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
