6 words on discipleship

Word-Centred

Contextual Community

Missional Intentionality

Traditionally I have:

(a) Taught people the Bible, effectively, clearly and practically.

b) Helped them see community as a “value” for them, and tried to give them a positive experience of what a community really looks like.

What I have been thinking about though is whether I have accurately taught and modelled  what it means to be a biblical community?  A community shaped by the gospel?

c) But I am sure I have been weak on missional discipleship.

Oh, we taught on the importance of evangelism, did evangelism, got them to invite their friends, but did I ever teach/model/live before them what is means to be missional?

Is this why I am experiencing the heartbreak of watching so many who I thought were going strong walking away?

~ by John on November 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
