Be Still…

My wife has been encouraging me to post this for a while now.

A few years ago I was going through a really rough time and as I am prone to do, I was trying to figure it all out, have all the answers etc.  And a friend of mine told me to just go sit on the beach with my Bible, a pen and a notebook.  And just stop and listen to what God is saying to you.  This was the result:

So that you do not attempt to have to read my hand-writing here is the far more boring typed version:

“What is all this silent noise that speaks so loud so soft

Be still! – But where, but what, but how, but why, but who

Be still, my child, be still

Why do they keep on talking

Go here, stay there, do this, be that

Lead, love, save, do, be

I must, I will, I seek, I strive

Be still my son, be still and know that I am God!

Know? know what? know the future

Know the way? know the answer? know the truth?

No the lie! no the anger! no the pain!

Know that I am God…

Be still my son. Be still!

~ by John on October 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
