Books that changed my life 3

I have just finished reading John Stott’s “The Cross of Christ” – one of those books I was supposed to have read at college but never did.  So now finally I will have to admit that my lecturers were right – I wish I had read this book years ago. Absolutely brilliant.

If you think you understand all about the cross.  If you think you have nothing new to learn about the cross.  Think again and read this book.  I really challenged my understanding of the cross not only in my abstract theological thinking but in my very practical theological living.

Stott is brilliant in relating all of life and theology to the cross.  If you want to know what it is that God is doing in the world today?  Read this book for a practical, missional, relevant deeply theological centring of all of life on the cross.

This book is deep and at times heavy (but in a light, profound, easy to read but not in big chunks), so take your time, kick off your shoes, give yourself a couple of months.  This is not a scan through in a weekend kind of book.  Rather slow down, meditate on it, chew it over, discuss it, blog about it… let it seep into your life, your actions and your thinking.

As you come to expect from Stott this book is Bible heavy – nothing is said that has not come from a rigorous study of the Bible and a thoughtful, pastoral meditating on the text.

My only disappointment was that there was very little interaction with The New Perspective, and the work of N.T. Wright and James Dunn. Given I have the older edition (1986) that is almost to be expected.  But I was wondering whether the newer edition interacts with this?

This is definitely a book to reread – slower this time, a chapter at a time.  Maybe during a lazy summer or a cold winter getaway…

~ by John on October 9, 2008.

One Response to “Books that changed my life 3”

  1. I’d assumed that it was still the 1986 edition, just re-released. I’ll have to check my copy to see if it’s an updated one.

Leave a Reply

 
